The Command Pack

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For starters I’ll have a look at the command pack. I mounted the figures on #10 flat washers and then used future floor polish/water/black ink wash to bring out the details. I’m mounting my figures individually and then will have magnetic movement trays to make things easier than moving 1200 Mexicans one at a time.

The command pack has twenty figures in 11 poses-officers, NCOs, musicians, and standard bearers. I only photographed ten poses and it appears I forgot to take a picture of an office in bicorn waving a sword. I’ll have to check to see if I received that figure. The officer on the left in bicorn appears to be a staff officer or possibly a the colonel in command of a battalion. According to regulations, regimental officers should wear shakos when serving with their battalions, but it appears some leeway was allowed. The officer on the far right wears a common sombrero which concurs with surviving accounts of the Texas Revolution. All the officers wear the 1832 coat with long tails, sash, epaulettes, etc. Officers on campaign in Texas would often wear a tailess, undress coat as an alternative, but I’m thinking these guys put on their flashiest uniforms for the final attack.

Here are four of the officer poses.

Next up are the three NCO poses. The sergeants three are dressed in the standard Mexican infantry uniform with their rank indicated by fringed epaulettes. They are in nice “get the lead out, Paco!” poses.

The three NCO poses

Finally there are the standard bearers and musicians. These consist of one pose each of a flag bearer, a drummer, and a bugler. The drummer is good for my Fusilero companies, while the bugler will signal for the Cazadore and Grenadero companies. The bugler carrys a brown bess so will fight along side his comrades when not blowing his horn. The flag bearer is dressed like an ordinary infantryman with non-fringed epaulettes, enlisted man’s coat and accoutrements. I would think the flag bearer would be a subaltern, but maybe the Mexicans were different. Of course my sources have no information on standard bearers at all! I’m going to add a drummer to each Fusilero company, but I suspect they were really used to carry off wounded since the attack was at night in silence.

The drummer, standard bearer, and bugler

Leave a Reply

